Boyd named to preseason all-Mountain West squad

UNLV sophomore Devonte Boyd was the only sophomore named to the Mountain West Conference’s preseason 25-member all-conference squad released on Tuesday morning at the conference’s annual Media Days at the Cosmopolitan Hotel.

As expected, UNLV (38 points) was selected to finish last in the West Division by a group of 30 media members. San Diego State (177, 27 of 30 first place votes) was picked to win the West followed by Fresno State (141, 3), Nevada (113), San Jose State (91), Hawaii (70) and the Rebels.

Defending Mountain West champion Boise State (177, 28) was picked to win the Mountain Division followed by Utah State (150, 2), Colorado State (108), Air Force (90), Wyoming (64) and New Mexico (41).

Colorado State junior wide receiver Rashard Higgins, a consensus first team All-American after leading the nation with 1,750 receiving yards and 17 touchdowns, was named preseason MW Offensive Player of the Year while Utah State senior linebacker Kyler Fackrell, considered by some the league’s top NFL prospect, was selected MW Defensive Player of the Year. San Diego State senior placekicker Donny Hageman garnered MW Special Teams Player of the Year honors.

San Diego State junior running back Donnel Pumphrey, who prepped at Canyon Springs High School, was also selected to the team.

QB – Chuckie Keeton Sr. Utah State
WR – Rashard Higgins* Jr. Colorado State
WR – Devonte Boyd** So. UNLV
RB – Donnel Pumphrey* Jr. San Diego State
RB – Marteze Waller** Sr. Fresno State
OL – Marcus Henry* Sr. Boise State
OL – Rees Odhiambo** Sr. Boise State
OL – Alex Fifita Sr. Fresno State
OL – Ben Clarke Sr. Hawaiʻi
OL – Pearce Slater Sr. San Diego State
TE – Steven Walker* Sr. Colorado State
DL – Alex Hansen** Sr. Air Force
DL – Kamalei Correa* Jr. Boise State
DL – Ian Seau** Sr. Nevada
DL – Eddie Yarbrough* Sr. Wyoming
LB – Tanner Vallejo** Jr. Boise State
LB – Kyler Fackrell Sr. Utah State
LB – Nick Vigil* Jr. Utah State
DB – Weston Steelhammer* Jr. Air Force
DB – Donte Deayon** Sr. Boise State
DB – Darian Thompson* Sr. Boise State
DB – Damontae Kazee** Jr. San Diego State
P – Alex Boy** Sr. Nevada
PK – Donny Hageman Sr. San Diego State
Ret. – Carlos Wiggins Sr. New Mexico

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year: Rashard Higgins, Jr., WR, Colorado State
Preseason Defensive Player of the Year: Kyler Fackrell, Sr., LB, Utah State
Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year: Donny Hageman, Sr., PK, San Diego State
* – member of the 2014 All-Mountain West first team.
** – member of the 2014 All-Mountain West second team.

Rk. Team (1st place votes) Pts.
1. San Diego St. (27) 177
2. Fresno State (3) 141
3. Nevada 113
4. San José State 91
5. Hawaii 70
6. UNLV 38
Rk. Team (1st place votes) Pts.
1. Boise State (28) 177
2. Utah State (2) 150
3. Colorado State 108
4. Air Force 90
5. Wyoming 64
6. New Mexico 41

Related Articles


About Author

(0) Readers Comments

Leave a Reply