Runnin' Rebels Top News UNLV — 06 March 2012
Four Rebels gain all-Mountain West honors

Four members of UNLV’s starting five have picked up all-Mountain West honors including sophomore forward Mike Moser who was selected the league’s Newcomer of the Year.
The 6-foot-8 Moser, a transfer from UCLA who is averaging a double-double (13.7 points, 10.2 rebounds), was also a unanimous first team all-conference pick and joined teammate Anthony Marshall on the MW All-Defensive team.
Marshall, a Mojave High School product who ranks sixth in the Mountain West in scoring (13.8 ppg), seventh in rebounding (6.1 rpg) and second in assists (4.6) in conference games only, was also a second team all-MW pick.
Senior guard Oscar Bellfield and senior forward Chace Stanback were both selected to the third team all-Mountain West squad.
It marks the first time in UNLV’s 13 seasons of Mountain West competition that four members of the team garnered first, second or third team honors.
Joining Moser on the all-MW first team were San Diego State’s Jamaal Franklin, who also was named the conference’s Player of the Year, Colorado State guard Wes Eikmeier, New Mexico’s Drew Gordon and TCU point guard and Valley High product Hank Thorns Jr.
The second team was comprised of Marshall, Air Force’s Michael Lyons, New Mexico’s Kendall Williams, San Diego State’s Chase Tapley and Wyoming’s Leonard Washington.
In addition to Bellfield and Stanback, the third team consisted of Colorado State guard Dorian Green and forward Pierce Hornung, and TCU’s J.R. Cadot.
Joining Marshall and Moser on the MW All-Defensive team were Hornung, San Diego State center Tim Shelton and Wyoming point guard JayDee Luster, who was also named league Defensive Player of the Year.
TCU guard Kyan Anderson was named Freshman of the Year while teammate Amric Fields took home Sixth Man of the Year honors. San Diego State’s Steve Fisher was selected as Mountain West Coach of the Year.
The 20th-ranked Runnin’ Rebels (25-7, 9-5) open Mountain West Tournament play on Thursday night at 8:30 p.m. against No. 6 seed Wyoming (20-10, 6-8).

– staff report

Related Articles


About Author

(0) Readers Comments

Leave a Reply