Davis, Boyko, Waterman named to all-Mountain West preseason squad

UNLV placed three players on the 25-man Mountain West preseason all-conference team released Tuesday morning at the league’s annual Media Days at The Cosmopolitan Hotel in Las Vegas.

Senior wide receiver Devante Davis and senior offensive linemen Brett Boyko and Robert Waterman were selected to the squad chosen by media members around the league.

Utah State senior quarterback Chuckie Keeton was named Preseason MW Offensive Player of the Year, while Fresno State senior safety Derron Smith was selected MW Defensive Player of the Year. New Mexico junior return specialist Carlos Wiggins garnered Preseason MW Special Teams Player of the Year honors.

Boise State was predicted to win the 2014 Mountain Division title while defending 2013 MW champ Fresno State was chosen to win the West Division. UNLV was picked to finish fourth behind the Bulldogs, San Diego State and Nevada in the West ahead of San Jose State and Hawaii.

2014 All-Mountain West Preseason Team

QB Chuckie Keeton, Sr., Utah State
WR Matt Miller, Sr., Boise State
WR Devante Davis, Sr., UNLV
RB Jay Ajayi, Jr., Boise State
RB Donnel Pumphrey, So. , San Diego State
OL Ty Sambrailo, Sr., Colorado State
OL Cody Wichmann, Sr., Fresno State
OL LaMar Bratton, Sr., New Mexico
OL Brett Boyko, Sr., UNLV
OL Robert Waterman, Sr., UNLV
TE Kivon Cartwright, Sr., Colorado State
DL Tyeler Davison, Sr., Fresno State
DL Brock Hekking, Sr., Nevada
DL B.J. Larsen, Sr., Utah State
DL Eddie Yarbrough, Jr., Wyoming
LB Ejiro Ederaine, Jr., Fresno State
LB Kyler Fackrell, Jr., Utah State
LB Zach Vigil, Sr., Utah State
DB Donte Deayon, Jr., Boise State
DB Jeremy Ioane, Sr., Boise State
DB Derron Smith, Sr., Fresno State
DB J.J. Whittaker, Sr., San Diego State
P Garrett Swanson, Jr., Fresno State
PK Jared Roberts, Sr., Colorado State
Ret. Carlos Wiggins, Jr., New Mexico
Preseason Offensive Player of the Year: Chuckie Keeton, Sr., QB, Utah State
Preseason Defensive Player of the Year: Derron Smith, Sr., DB, Fresno State
Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year: Carlos Wiggins, Jr., KR, New Mexico

Related Articles


About Author

(0) Readers Comments

Leave a Reply